For those “look” carefully!

April 18, 2009 at 6:40 am Leave a comment

الَّذِينَ يَذْكُرُونَ اللَّهَ قِيَامًا وَقُعُودًا وَعَلَىٰ جُنُوبِهِمْ وَيَتَفَكَّرُونَ فِي خَلْقِ السَّمَاوَاتِ وَالْأَرْضِ رَبَّنَا مَا خَلَقْتَ هَـٰذَا بَاطِلًا سُبْحَانَكَ فَقِنَا عَذَابَ النَّارِ

Who remember Allāh while standing or sitting or [lying] on their sides and give thought to the creation of the heavens and the earth, [saying], “Our Lord, You did not create this aimlessly; exalted are You [above such a thing]; then protect us from the punishment of the Fire.
3:191

 
When people look carefully at the order of the universe, it becomes clear to them that it is an order permeated by wisdom and intelligent purpose. Likewise, the moral consciousness, freedom of choice, reason and discretion gifted to people is proof that people are answerable for their deeds.
 

Once traveling with a caravan, ‘Amir ibn Abdullah at Tamimi (successor to the companions) made camp when night fell. He tied his horse, collected grass and fodder for her to last the night then disappeared into the dense bushes and trees.  He kept walking until he reached a small hillock, where he the Qiblah and began to perform Salah. He performed it perfectly with total devotion and concentration. He supplicated:

My God, You have created me by Your command, and have placed in  the vanity of this world according to Your will. Then You have told me to control myself. Yet, how can I control myself if You, in Your subtle manner, do not exert control over me. You are the One with strength and firmness. My God, You know that if I possessed everything in this world, and was asked to give it all up in order to please You, I would give it to whoever requested it. I ask of You, the Most Compassionate, grant me the salvation of my soul. My God, my love for You has made it easy for me to bear any calamity, and to be satisfied with any fate. Because of my love for You, I no longer concern myself with my material condition.

 ‘Amir continued prayer throughout the night till dawn. After the morning Salah, he supplicated, “O Allah, morning has come, and everyone ahs begun to move about seeking Your bounty. Every person is in need of something. What I need from You is your forgiveness. You, Who are Most Generous, please grant my need as well as the needs of others”. Aameen. 

Source: Portraits (vol.1) – Abdul Rahman al Basha

 

 

 

Entry filed under: AlHuda.

a NEW opening – with Praise of Allah How to Organize Time?

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Quran and Me- A Lifelong Journey

This blog aims to document the thoughts, feelings and experiences of students of the Taleem al Quran Course Canada, supervised by Dr. Farhat Hashmi. It further aims to inspire and spread the true message and spirit of Quran - the Divine Words of God.
April 2009
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Recent Comments

Durr-e-Shehwar Ali on Surah Al Baqarah V.183-18…
Proud To Be A Muslim on Al Anbiya V.30-50
Abubakar on Al Muzammil V.1-20
xeniagreekmuslimah on
Uzma Shah on How to Organize Time?

Subscribe Now!

Our Visitors

Cluster Map!

Blog Stats

  • 50,937 hits